Intervention – “Shrinking Worlds: Austerity and Depression”

Esther Hitchen, Durham University; e.j.u.hitchen@durham.ac.uk
Ian Shaw, University of Glasgow; ian.shaw.2@glasgow.ac.uk

Introduction A park closed, a library shut, or a social housing estate left to ruin. Austerity has dramatically altered the geographies of everyday life. Consider the 2019 Bureau of Investigative...
Read More

Intervention – “The Other Side of The Tracks: Contested Space, Commemoration, and Erasure”

David S. Rotenstein, Ph.D. Historian/Folklorist david.rotenstein@earthlink.net

The Talbot Avenue Bridge is contested space. The metal girder bridge was built in 1918 to span the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad tracks in Silver Spring, an unincorporated community in Montgomery...
Read More

Intervention – “On the Uses of Geography in a Moment of Rising Fascism”

Johan Pries, Sveriges lantbruksuniversitet / Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences The stakes of grasping how the far Right operates have not been higher for a long time. Hard Right racism is...
Read More

Intervention – “The Public Spaces of Trump Tower Reflect the Cruelty and Self-Dealing of the Trump Presidency”

Robert Rosenberger Georgia Institute of Technology rosenberger@gatech.edu The Trump administration will be forever remembered, among other things, as one that persecuted already disadvantaged people,...
Read More

Intervention – “A Femifesto for Teaching and Learning Radical Geography”

The Athena Co-Learning Collective https://www.athenacollective.org Who are We, and What is Our Project? The Athena Co-Learning Collective is a group of graduate students and faculty at the University...
Read More

Intervention – “Changing the Question from ‘The End of Austerity?’ to ‘What Ends in Austerity?’”

Ruth Raynor School of Architecture, Planning, and Landscape, Newcastle University Ruth.Raynor@Newcastle.ac.uk A short break from ceaseless punditry on “Brexit” was given over to chancellor...
Read More

The Violent Reality of the EU Border: Police Brutality in the Balkans

Earlier this year the Antipode Foundation announced the recipients of its 2018 Scholar-Activist Project and International Workshop Awards. The organisers of one of the projects, “Fragile...
Read More

Intervention – “Prepper Pedagogy: Civil Defense, Emergency Preparedness, and Nation Building”

Sara Matthews, Department of Global Studies, Wilfrid Laurier University;  smatthews@wlu.ca Ileana I. Diaz, Department of Geography & Environmental Management, University of Waterloo Murtadha...
Read More

Intervention – “Christine Blasey Ford and Geographies of Aggression and Repair”

Natalie Oswin Department of Geography, McGill University natalie.oswin@mcgill.ca Dr. Christine Blasey Ford testified before the Senate Judiciary Committee in Washington, DC on Thursday 27 September...
Read More

Intervention – “Venezuela: It’s all about the oil”

Sean Field, University of Toronto Mississauga, sean.field@utoronto.ca Venezuela is in crisis (Buxton 2016; Hetland 2016; Human Rights Watch 2018a; Petras 2013). US sanctions and recent calls for a...
Read More